Hof and Cornelius chose Miami

Text adapted from CTO post today – original article in Dutch is here – http://www.basketball.nl/oranje-topsport/cto/nieuws-cto/!/10959/laura-cornelius-en-emese-hof-kiezen-voor-miami-hurricanes

miami pic

After recent visits Both Laura Cornelius and Emese Hof have in recent days given their ‘verbal commitment’ at the University of Miami.  Both top products of the Dutch central academy for National Team players.

Emese on her decision …

During her stay in America she attended alongside Miami Also Syracuse University and Vanderbilt University. A choice between these top schools in the US NCAA Division 1 was not easy. Hof says about her choice itself; “In Miami I had a very good feeling, it clicked very well and it was professionally handled. The most important thing for me was that I saw the fun that everyone interacted with each other. You could see that they work very hard, but still in a “playful” way, and that suits me. I also find it very important to develop myself further and I think I can do that at Miami.

Laura on her decision..

Last year she made the choice to move to the NCAA league and gave them her commitment to Gonzaga University. Shortly after she left her torn ligament in the first playoff game in 2014. With the departure of Gonzaga Head coach to Oregon , she decided to stay another year in the Netherlands. This season she has fully focused on her rehabilitation. The interest from America, however, was not any less. The day after the rise of these heavy injury the phone rang again and the one after another US coach stressed that there is still great interest in her. Cornelius decided to review all offers and so she left recently for a visit to Miami and Iowa State. “The visits to these schools were again really special. Since last year I also did some visits I knew what was waiting for me, but that these two schools took as much out of the closet to win me for it, I never expected, “she says of the visit. Her choice was then not easy, but eventually also to the Hurricanes. “The past year was tough for me, frustration, uncertainty and many ups and downs. I now get to know myself tremendously and I really know what I want with basketball. That’s why I’m extra happy. Glad I can finally make the switch to a topcollege in America. This is something I’ve always dreamed of  I’m sure I’m going to have a great time in Miami and I’m going to do everything to be as successful as possible there! “

Leave a Reply

