Greeting from Plzen

A beautiful sunny day here in Plzen for the start of the FIBA u17 World Championships.

wlecome

 

I arrived last night, a 45 minute easy drive from Prague airport was basically all down hill through pleasant open countryside. The roads are excellent and finding my base, the Courtyard Marriott was simple with the exception of being stopped by the police as I attempted to drive down a closed road, by the hotel ! Quick re route on the GPS, no jail sentence and checked in. An evening stroll as the sun was setting to the near by square and Cathedral and then a bite to eat by the river!

This morning I walked to the gym to get my bearings. Although not far on the map not too easy to navigate, my shortcut along the river back on the way back was quicker but I doubt I will be repeating late at night after the final game. Parking is free by the gym which is located in a residential area and I suggest coaches drive or get a taxi.

Several of the teams are based in the Marriott and it’s nice to get to see players off and on the court. My first game this morning is Australia vs Japan. Subscribers will already be familiar with which Aussie players are graduating when and who wants to play in the NCAA.
In the second game Mexico face once to be hosts Slovakia. I am looking forward to seeing the progress of the Slovakian 2015 who has been the standout player in this class for some time.

USA vs China will be an interesting match up.
As ever rosters are not always accurate, Mali have some size! I know I couldn’t get past them at the service bar for breakfast as they stocked up on the spread.
Subscribers log into the report pages for updates later tonight

http://wp.me/P1FCuL-9i

 

Leave a Reply

